Can I file a correction form for state information?

You can only file for state information if you meet the following two rules:

1.  You must file a correction for federal data as well, you cannot file a correction for state information only

2. The state you are filing a correction for must participate in the 1099 Combined Federal State Filing Program (CFSFP).  These are the states that participate:

Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan,  Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, and Wisconsin

Note:  By participating in the Combined Federal State Filing Program, we do not file directly to the states and although the IRS makes the state information available for those states that participate, it is your sole responsibility to make sure the states receive the appropriate information.

*Iowa withdrew from participation in 2014.

*District of Columbia and Utah withdrew from participation in 2015.

*Virginia withdrew from participation in 2017.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


Article is closed for comments.