Does your site participate in the Combined Federal/State Filing program (CFSFP)?

We automatically file form types 1099-B, 1099-DIV, 1099-INT, 1099-MISC, 1099-NEC and 1099-R in the IRS' Combined Federal State Filing Program whereby the IRS makes available the form information to Alabama, Arizona,  Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut,  Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan*,  Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, and Wisconsin as detailed in IRS Publication 1220.

Not all states participate in this program such as tax free states like Nevada, Florida, Washington and Wyoming. Some states participate in the program but because they also may have Direct to State requirements, if our platform supports Direct to State filing , we will not file via the CFSF program to avoid duplicate reporting of income.

If you have questions regarding state filings we suggest that you talk with your Accountant or Attorney for further clarification. 

Note:  By participating in the Combined Federal State Filing Program, we do not file directly to the states and although the IRS makes the state information available for those states that participate, it is your sole responsibility to make sure the states receive the appropriate information.


Note: The above states are only supported by filing directly to state on our platform for the forms indicated regardless if they participate in the CFSF program:

*Iowa withdrew from participation in 2014.

*District of Columbia and Utah withdrew from participation in 2015.

*Virginia withdrew from participation in 2017.

*Vermont withdrew in 2018.

*Michigan requires that the 1099-NEC be filed directly to the state and does not accept the 1099-NEC through the CFSF program.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


Article is closed for comments.