Do I Need to File My 1099 With the State?

We automatically file form types 1099-B, 1099-DIV, 1099-INT, 1099-MISC and 1099-R in the IRS' Combined Federal State Filing Program whereby the IRS makes available the form information to Alabama, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Jersey, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, South Carolina, and Wisconsin as detailed in IRS Publication 1220.

Not all states participate in this program such as tax free states like Nevada, Florida, Washington and Wyoming. If you have questions regarding state filings we suggest that you talk with your Accountant or Attorney for further clarification.  Although the IRS makes the state information available, it is your responsibility to make sure the states receive the appropriate information.

*Iowa withdrew from participation in 2014.

*District of Columbia and Utah withdrew from participation in 2015.

*Virginia withdrew from participation in 2017.

*Vermont withdrew in 2018.



Was this article helpful?
10 out of 10 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request


Article is closed for comments.